Apr 29 2021

Dale Stagg

Slot Fish

Number of Posts :

Reservation Number : 28263
Property Name : Bennett Lake
Reservation Date : 04/28/2021 PM -
Total Fish/Sizes : 10
Lures Used : Epic Baits Plastic Worm - Watermelon/Junebug and Watermelon with Chartreuse Tail

I made an afternoon trip to Bennett Lake yesterday. Since it is 160 miles away, I went for the afternoon only fishing on this lake. I made it to the lake right at noon and did not really know what to expect since it is my first time. I got to the ramp area and was pleasantly suprised to find the ramp is made using some 2” – 3” lava rack for launching a trailer and worked great. It goes deep enough to launch most any boat, but I launched my Hobie PA14 360 with little effort from it’s trailer.

After launch, the water gets deep very fast which makes it easy to drop my spot lock trolling motor in the down position and my pedals without hitting bottom. I started across the lake directily across from the launch and noticed the entire way out, I saw tons of underwater vegatation and could see it down to 10 foot easily making the water super clear. I caught one very quickly that went just over 2 lbs and thought, this will be a great day. The wind however was terrible and gave my spotlock motor a run for it’s money and it kept turning my boat in different directions with the wind gusting in several directions constantly. It was blowing hard enough, it moved my Texas Rigged Worm with 1/8 oz slip weight around under water and had a hard time keeping the slack out of my line enough to notice any bites. I then moved to a more calm location from the wind, and was able to catch several more in the 2-3lb range.